Prime Ssh Engagenl Digest.

Essential insights into breaking global news, cultural phenomena, and current world affairs, curated by the editorial team at Prime Ssh Engagenl Digest.

updates

New driving law requires a huge 'responsible' move from motorists- and it's an instant $100 fine if you don't do it

By Sarah Duran |

A NEW law will see that drivers take responsibility after hitting someone's animal.

If you're in Maine and hit a cat, dog or even a cow, the new legislation would legally require you to find the owner of the animal and report the incident to the authorities.

If you hit a cat, dog or even a cow in Maine, the new legislation would legally require you to find the owner of the animal and report the incident to the authorities

2

If you hit a cat, dog or even a cow in Maine, the new legislation would legally require you to find the owner of the animal and report the incident to the authoritiesCredit: Getty
The proposed legislation would make it a violation for an operator of a motor vehicle not to report an accident with a cat, a dog or livestock

2

The proposed legislation would make it a violation for an operator of a motor vehicle not to report an accident with a cat, a dog or livestockCredit: Getty

The bill introduced in the legislature earlier this year would fine drivers between $100 and $500 if they hit a dog, cat, or livestock and do not notify the owner or police.

There's been a law in place for over 10 years that dismisses the state of any liability regarding traffic accidents involving wild animals but the regulation introduced this year addresses domestic creatures.

The law regarding wild animals and birds makes drivers take responsibility for the crash, and possible carcass, after hitting a wild creature by notifying police and removing the corpse from the road.

The proposed legislation would make it a violation for an operator of a motor vehicle not to report an accident with a cat, a dog or livestock to a law enforcement officer or to the animal's owner.

More on driving laws

If the bill is passed, first-time offenders risk a fine of no less than $100 and no more than $500, the act states.

Lawmakers are hopeful the act will pass as it sees repeat offenders who violate the regulation three times within a five-year period are penalized as a Class E crime.

These types of serious law violations are punishable by up to six months of incarceration and a $1,000 fine.

The legislation is inspired by a French herding dog named Percy who was hit by a car in 2020, breaking his front leg and dislocating his hip, local news network Fox 23 reported.

Most read in Motors

While the canine is reportedly doing fine now, it took multiple surgeries for him to recover.

No driver ever came forward, owning up to causing his injuries.

His owner, Marge Kilkelly, said notification is critical as her pet was just lucky that she was nearby and heard the accident.

That being said, a lot of animals spend time alone outside and are at risk of having no help if a driver hits them and decides to keep driving.

In the state, you’re required to notify officials if you hit a deer, moose or turkey with a motor vehicle - offenders could even be hit with hundreds of dollars in fines.

"Team Percy" seeks equal treatment for domestic animals.